Uncategorized

The Money Conundrum

These few weeks I’ve been busying mself with writing a script which I’m working with a friend/ creative partner one as well as rewriting the one (named Love, Unresolved) that has already been produced for my school module last year. Which somehow, other people are still excited about watching, if they haven’t known about it. As the scriptwriter, I don’t get the hype.

Upkeeping this blog on a regular basis- creating and posting original content every week is harder than I thought.

So many things can transpire in life which takes up all energy and/or mind space. A few weeks ago I completed an ad hoc job (because I needed the money) and for the first time, paid my own medical expenses with my pay from 7 days of organising paperwork.

Its very humbling to pay for your own medical bill yourself, and working solely because you need the cash. But very fulfilling to do so at the same time.

I’m okay with this part of adulting though. I’ve realised not too long ago that no matter how much money I’ll have, there will always be something that I badly want to buy. That’s something that is not linked to whether I have things to pay for or tithing to present to God’s church, which admittedly, I only do when I’m earning my own money.

Funnily enough, its so much easier spending a hundred dollars on something I want, without blinking an eye but so much harder to  exercise trust in God that He will provide for me, by presenting to God 10% of what He has already given me.

It was only a few weeks before that I realised how radical the Christian concept of tithing is. Everyday of our lives, we are pulled towards other material desires of our heart- a pair of practical leather boots, or clothes or something else, whether it be push notifications of one’s own retail mailing lists or ads as seen on Facebook. Or as it is in my case, the desire to simply up one’s own bank account balance to stay financially afloat.

And in the midst of all this, it is easy to forget that God is our Provider and He is in control of our circumstances. I often forget that I’ve always had enough all this while, when I am a student and not working. Somehow. It’s all pretty much the verses Matthew 6 :25-34 fleshed out in real life.

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life[a]?

28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Side note: My ultrasound results came back. My kidneys, which I was worried about since I used to be physically self-destructive in my earlier years- were fine. Everything’s fine, the doctor gave me the all-clear. Praise the Lord for his grace in making sure I ended up alive and healthy on this side of life, up until now.

I don’t know when I’ll update again, so I’m not going to make any promises but I’ll try. I currently have 10 WordPress drafts as it is.

Yours Truly,

Wheremabelgo.

Leave a Reply

