Writing

Why Women Supporting One Another is so Important / Lost In Translation = Sleazy

chinglish_1468537c.jpg

An example of a grave direct translation. Picture courtesy of Telegraph, UK. 

 

I’m doing this post for fun. From my statistics, my most frequently viewed posts are the review posts- where I have given my thought on Crimson Peak movie and the Good Friday Art Fair at Tanjong Pajar Railway Station. So I thought it interesting to do a review of an event- just that its first semester’s one week break.

Honest disclaimer: I have been procrastinating over completing and publishing this blog post, so at the time of publishing I’m currently in semester two of my diploma course. Not a timely post according to journalistic standards, I know.  

To give context, right now I’m studying in Kaplan under a Diploma in Mass Communications 8-month program. Its a different place than what I had planned for myself, but so far its working out great for me, and I would say I’m at a higher point than I was last year, just holding down a part time job to have money for my own expenses and whiling the time away with entertainment and starting up this blog.

The Diploma programme is technically a three year course condensed into a short span of eight months, minus the supplementary elective modules and the long holiday breaks, which leaves us students with a one week break after every two months.

While I surprisingly made friends at Kaplan- some had their own plans while some of them flew back to their home countries for the break.

With no plans being made, I made the most of the well-deserved one week by connecting with the friends which I do not usually have chances to hang out with, given our different school schedules and personal commitments.

As a woman who predominantly hangs out with guys, I subconsciously aimed to hang out with women instead during that week. During these years, I have come to a conclusion that as well as I seem to make guy friends easier, I still cannot discount the genuine community of women.

I am not refering to the kind of people of my own gender who back-stab and gossip. Rather, I am refering to fellow women whom I can sincerely call friends, who can support me as an individual.

While hanging with guy friends is great, the loving support of women lifts me up in part of being comfortable with my own gender as well as the strengths of it. When I was younger, I felt hanging with my own gender was seriously annoying because they cared about things I didn’t- such as frivolous obsession with Korean culture and looking at me in a non-accepting way because I liked stuff they didn’t.

Also, there were certain things which I still don’t understand such as- why do girls go to toilet in packs? If I wanted to take a dump I rather be left alone in peace.

As I grew though and the company I had to hang around with changed I realised that there was a unique asset to what people would call sisterhood. While my guy friends could understand me if I shared about my personal problems, what community of fellow women offered was that fellow women could relate to my own emotions and its nuances in a very personal way, especially when the topic was about situations that were female-specific. It ensures me that I am not alone in the way I experience and perceive occurrences in my life. Right now I find that to be a unique comfort.

As a teenager, I would probably disagree, but now at 21 I understand why some might say “women are the best”.

Doing nothing together can be the best things we do with our long-time friends sometimes. It makes people speak and share from the heart instead of surface level niceties. That’s what I did with my long-time friend in a nutshell.

About two days later I hung out with my best female friend who I’ve known for 10 years. She shared about her two week-long overseas exchange program in Taiwan. Through our conversation, it has come to my attention that whenever there’s a language miscommunication it tends to make one sound sleazy.

For example, if one doesn’t get the intonation of Chinese words right, one could end up asking if ‘Taiwanese guys can rent?’ instead of the intended question of ‘if they can cook’. Language barrier. Oh why?

Unintentionally sounding sleazy is not exclusive to the Chinese language by the way. I wonder if others have come across unfortunate lost-in-translation mishaps? Do share, it will make unfortunate souls like me and my friends feel so much better.

Thank you for your service to humanity (If anyone shared their own experiences).

Signing off, have a good day or night wherever you are!

It’s currently 2.47am where I am and I’ll have to wake at around 9am for a six hour double period of Journalism and Ethics later from 12-6pm. Dang. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

