Uncategorized

My Low-Key Way of Passing Time

I haven’t had stuff that I’ve been interested enough to blog about these days. Between waiting for my polytechnic application results I’ve been baking every now and then, trying to upgrade my culinary skills for survival’s sake as well as long-term financial management purposes. Buying groceries definitely adds up to quite a sum sometimes but if you were to calculate the costs closely with how many meals you can get out of groceries v.s the same price for a diner’s ready-made meal, you can actually afford twice the amount of food if you were to cook at home. That’s based on my own calculations of buying groceries for pasta vs. Pastamania meal expenditure. I haven’t impressed myself with my own cooking or baking as yet, though. I’m finding that that’s quite an uphill task, one which I have yet to conquer.

The first item I baked this month was the funfetti cookies (which turned out to be a hit with my church ministry people) though I made out a metallic weird aftertaste that seemingly only me noticed. Nobody shared the same sentiment about the aftertaste with me. I wonder if there has been some psychological illusion going on here.

 

IMG_0040.JPGMaybe like my mother suggested, it’s harder to impress yourself with what you’ve made as you know exactly what are the things that went into your product, so you’re able to pick out any perceived flaws much easier.

I don’t know man, but perhaps the other aspect of impressing yourself with your own culinary skills is outdoing yourself. What do you guys think?

Besides the above funfetti cookies, I have also made chocolate cookies of different variations with slightly different results- but nothing spectacular. I’ve just bought rosewater to make 18th century rosewater cookies though, so maybe my latest attempt will be more spectacular!

I’ve always been a food history geek of sorts. During my school holidays in the past, I enjoyed immersing myself in documentaries about the past- I particularly enjoyed one series called The Supersizers Go.. where two docu-hosts explored the food culture of every bygone era and lived that way for a week- adopting a Tudor diet and way of dress to adopting World War 2 food minimalism, for example.

Rosewater cookies was something I came across in passing some years ago, in a fiction historical novel titled Bewitching Season which evolves around two highborn magic-educated sisters who set out to rescue their governess who has been kidnapped, amidst the backdrop of their society debut. I don’t can recall the plot details enough to properly introduce it in this blog post but apparently I remember the rosewater cookies detail. I have a fascination with unique food, especially with confectionery with floral tastes added in, and it would be interesting to bring something which I’ve only read about to taste in real life. Heck, I could just upload a post about that rosewater cookie attempt when I’ve baked it.

There’s not much going on with me these days, with a exceptional detail being I didn’t get into polytechnic, so I’m continuing my further education with a private diploma with Kaplan next week or so. When I start schooling, it’ll probably be a pressure-cooker 8 months, I’m expecting the rigours to be brutal, so I’m going to immerse myself reading and baking and doing whatever it is I wish to do for the amount of time left.

Signing off, TTYL! Have a good day or night, wherever in the world you are!

Leave a Reply

