Writing

Eye-Opening Hilarity in Free-Writing (Part 1)

Lo and behold, it’s New Year’s eve! I hope everyone has had a great time, one that is spectacular and meaningful. I’ve managed to spend my eve reading the whole day, and ending it with compiling this list related to my musings gleaned from December’s free-write!

The following are instances that have kind of opened my eyes in regards to writing.

Murphy’s Law- I spent a few days each on my first posts, blogging into silence. The day I put up the post announcing the free-write challenge I was about to do, I spent about 10mins on it before I got my first blog post likes.

First thought: Dafuq? Silence when I prepared something for a few days, favourable results when a post was bred out of spontaneity. Okay, point taken. It strikes people acutely when written thoughts are candid and from the wellsprings of the heart, rather than measured. People definitely do read to connect and relate on an emotional level.

I was so happy I felt I could die of elation in that moment. To the two that have liked that random rant/note, a BIG THANK YOU. That was my first in experiencing unexpected….. whatever you’ll call it for an obscure fledging blog like this one.

The Mystery of Invigorating Sunrise– All author’s notes at the start and end of my shorts are all written in honest spontaneity. Invigorating Sunrise is something I randomly came up with to include those two words in. As the note says, I had no idea what I was doing. It’s a story with no plot, a mish-mash of information that reveals a couple’s coffee/tea preferences and remembrance of how a grandmother-in-law has contributed to a fledging marriage without any elaboration. By the end of the day after, though, that short had gained 8 likes, which is one of the most number of likes for any shorts I’ve written during the free-write challenge.

My first response was to snort as try as I might, I can’t see the appeal of it. That seems to be mostly the case for things I write that are more well-received. For now I have yet to see anything I love writing become as popular among readers as much as I love them.

One of the things I learnt from writing this month is people read to escape reality.

1)Maybe people liked it because the man wakes up with a wife beside him? Even though the wife does not share similar waking habits, perhaps people wanted what Kevin had, someone to wake up to and share life whole-heartedly. 2)Maybe people liked it because Kevin took effort to understand his wife better, forgoing his usual coffee for the tea she’s been keen about. 3)Or perhaps it was the aspect of familial community in which Melrose’s grandmother was involved in their union, giving advice along the way while she was still alive.

I’ve heard that elders in the family are less involved in their children’s dating and love lives in this age, compared to 50 years back or so. Maybe the likes indicated what people secretly yearn for, community guidance when it comes to their crucial choices for marriage?

I could run my head in circles about the mystery of why Invigorating Sunrise got 8 likes. It’s a classical case of unexpected success in the context of my current blogging obscurity. For now it’s a question unanswered, even the few friends I have approached to review my writings have given me no answer to that.

The Unintended Gay Innuendo– I wrote the first version of The Sharp Dark at 1am, hours after mulling over what I could write that could possibly contain the two absurdly unrelated words.

The things that I inadvertently associate with ‘sharp’ and ‘dark’ are crime fiction things, things of the noir. Like hiding in cubbyholes. Sharp knives. Leaping, jumping, chasing. The Sharp Dark was and is my virgin forray into writing an energetic action scene. What can I say, first attempts are for firing, missing the target and adjusting your rifle scope, especially when you do first attempts at 1am.

It was only when I read the thing myself the next day did I realise I might have made Kevin sound gay.

I initially wrote about loved-up couples agreeing with Kevin that some things are better enjoyed in the dark. Next paragraph- he’s tackled a masked person, is restraining the person, who is revealed to be a man. I don’t know how those who viewed it thought of it because nobody commented but it was a plain gay innuendo to me outright. Not the ambiguity I was going for. My plan was to go for moral ambiguity.

Before my self-edit it had garnered 6 likes. Perhaps it was liked because it was bad literature, or maybe it was so bad its’s fun to read. An online friend told me she liked the descriptive aspect and perhaps that was what others who read it saw. What was clearly pointed out in that piece was the disorganization of the points brought up by 2 friends who reviewed it.

That first attempt at an action scene was memorable in a hilarious way. I would definitely be asking friends to review the pieces that I really care about. Writing The Sharp Dark definitely hit home the point that perhaps it wasn’t a good idea for me to try anything new in the early mornings.

I’m not one who has read crime fiction or psychological thrillers a lot, though I did love the Millenium trilogy by Steig Larrson. As of now I’m trying to find books in that genres that aren’t too dry and would grab my attention to read. I just finished the memoir Steig Larrson, My Friend and quite a few names in the crime fiction literary world were mentioned, so I might approach my local library soon with that list of names like I’m hunting down wanted people myself. 😉

______

(To be continued Part 2. Maybe not tomorrow but soon. I need a break from constantly being on my laptop.)

Signing off, TTYL. Have a good day or night wherever you are!

Leave a Reply

